Botswana Beef

The following post is by 3L Tyler Opel:

It’s been a few days since we all made the arduous trip home from Africa. You would think that the incredible wildlife, our great experience with the local attorneys, or even the trip to Nelson Mandela’s house would still be in my mind. All of those things were highlights and there is no doubt that they would make great blog topics. However, I am a dedicated carnivore and I still can’t get over how great all of the beef was in Botswana and South Africa. Fair warning- if you are a vegetarian, and that is totally cool with me if you are, you may want to continue reading some of the other blog posts.

steaks

Yes- you read that correctly. Of all the great experiences I had in Africa, I want to blog about steaks. I couldn’t get it out of my head. I’ve been to some great Steakhouses all over the world, and I feel like I had the best steak I have ever tasted in Gaborone, Botswana. In fact- the food throughout the whole trip was spectacular. But, when I had my first taste of the beef after we arrived in Bots, I was hooked.

The People of Botswana and their cattle have been linked for generations.  So much that in Botswana it is estimated that cows outnumber people 2 to 1. Of course the cows provide milk, meat, and hides, but most of the time cattle is a family’s only consistent source of income. Therefore the cows are tended to with the utmost care. In certain areas of Botswana there are massive floodplains that provide cattle with an excellent source of water and grass to feed off of, which are optimal conditions for cattle farming.

I never really had a steak that so encompassed the whole grass-fed and free-range methods of farming as I did in Botswana. But after experiencing the culmination of those farming techniques on my dinner plate- I was a believer.  Of course compliments must be reserved for the Chefs who prepared the food, but the beef was just so consistently good from restaurant to restaurant that it was clear that it was the true star of the show.

-Tyler Opel

Leave a Reply

